Werribee Cup Results

Makybe Diva’s first ever black type victory in the 2002 Werribee Cup says quite a lot about the importance of this race. Plenty of renowned stayers have had a start in the Werribee Cup earlier in their career.

Werribee Cup results are usually difficult to predict, mainly due to the extended nature of the race and the mixed nature of the field.

Notable Werribee Cup winners include Even Stevens (1962), Altai Khan (1973), Waitangirua (1978), Magistrate (1980, 81), Noble Comment (1982), Apollo Run (1988) Makybe Diva (2002) and Roman Arch (2005).

Werribee Cup results since 2000 are listed below, along with winning times.

Werribee Cup Results

Year Winner Runner-Up Third Time
2014 Cadillac Mountain Khutulun Phantom Brew 2:06.0
2013 Pelicano Hurdy Gurdy Man Unchain My Heart 2:41.6
2012 (Dec) Unusual Suspect King Diamond I’m Jake 2:46.4
2012 (Jan) Apprehend Hanks Hiphopopotamus 2:45.1
2011 Montahlia Upon Elmore 2:49.4
2010 Not Held
2009 Not Held
2008 Mandela Imvula Reggie 2:17.5
2007 Baughurst Extend Saliente 2:02.1
2006 Brom Felinity Ulysses Danzippo 2:03.5
2005 Roman Arch Coalesce Wild Classic 2:05.0
2004 Lightning Command Just The Part Spadanza 2:05.1
2003 Classic Benbara Chairman’s Choice Tooboorack 2:03.1
2002 Makybe Diva Aquiver Eagle Rhythm 2:03.2
2001 Altiero Ascana Brighter Scene 2:02.5
2000 Slavonic Brave Chief Celestial Show 2:01.0